Psalm 145: David’s Psalm of praise

“The Lord is gracious, and full of compassion; slow to anger, and of great mercy.”

Psalm 145:8

When we treat each other awfully, as oftentimes we do, God forgives. It isn’t free, however. We must go to Him humbly for that forgiveness. We must also forgive ourselves. We must be gracious, we must be compassionate, we must be patient, and we must be merciful. This morning’s reminder has caused me to pray. I asked the Lord for guidance in how to give to others the things that I ask for. How shall I show God’s love to others?

How often am I compassionate, patient, and merciful towards others? Would anyone describe me as such?

What if I challenged myself this week to show God’s grace to at least one other person. How about next week? What about this month?

Better yet, who is the one person I’ve had a hard time forgiving lately? At what point has my judgment of them gotten in the way of my forgiveness? How can I correct this?

I chose this passage from Psalms because it has provoked a lot of self-reflection on my part. I think it will remain the representative idea for the rest of this month of June. Each time I show any form of God’s love listed above, I will record it in a notebook. This will not be published. It is for me. You, the reader can also do this exercise for yourself, if you are so inclined.

Leave a comment